Hi Illa.

Everything about Illarion that fits nowhere else. / Alles über Illarion was inhaltlich in kein anderes Board passt.

Moderator: Gamemasters

Colin Smalls

Hi Illa.

Post by Colin Smalls »

During my brief return here a week ago, I noted some things some of you folks (mostly gms and game designers, I'd suspect) might find interesting.

Since I know barely anyone now, plus I'm a full time university student with work, girlfriend, and all that shabazz, my POV is basically that of a NOOB. So it could be a useful one for attracting new players.

Basically, nothing seemed to be happening. At all. There were a couple of folks using the workshops in Trollsbane, I found a nice n00b halfling cook, the typical couple of dudes pging in the yard, and of course the odd german speaker in Varshikar. But there was no roleplay.

When I say no roleplay, I don't mean roleplay, I mean stories. What I always loved about Illa were the on-going plots between players, whether guild wars, a romance gone wrong, some great building project, a quest (a proper quest I might add), blah blah blah. You know what I mean. And I logged on for several days, but found none of this, here or on the forums.

So there's your problem. The only way for me to really interact with anything would've been to pg up my character, and yet even if I had the time, looking at it as a new player, what would be the point? A character needs a purpose, and Illarion used to be excellent at giving characters purposes, but I couldn't find any.

Obviously, I care about this place otherwise I wouldn't have posted this. However, if I had been a genuine n00b, I would've logged out pretty quick. :)

So, I've had a think, and I've come up with three seperate issues and possible ways to resolve them.