Do Illarion developers have career plans in game making?

Everything about Illarion that fits nowhere else. / Alles über Illarion was inhaltlich in kein anderes Board passt.

Moderator: Gamemasters

Dyluck

Do Illarion developers have career plans in game making?

Post by Dyluck »

This is a question aimed mostly at those who help develop the technical aspects of Illarion. I was wondering if you are using your technical skills solely as a hobby for Illarion, or if perhaps you are actually polishing your skills for use someday in an actual job related to proffessional game making or maybe some other job that requires your technical skills? If so, what academic field have you studied, or what credentials do you have, or what are your career plans? Also, do you know if any former developers have gone on to related professions in either gaming making or their technical expertise?
pharse

Post by pharse »

I am studying computer science. I have nothing against a job as software engineer ;)
Arvemor

Post by Arvemor »

What about Dyluck? You made that whole Legends of Illarion thing...which I still haven't gotten to work. (Definitely my fault, so don't worry)
Llama

Post by Llama »

I'm an ICT student, so development is really up my ally. That said, I'm more interested in Security than actual game development at the moment. I see helping illarion out as more a case of 'using my skills to help the community' than 'practice'.

I've got enough 'practice' already, stupid projects.
Dyluck

Post by Dyluck »

@pharse: What specific skills do you have now or that you will learn? Are you at a certain level at using LUA or?